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1. HAND EVALUATION AND REVALUING

Many students have great difficulty with the concept of hand evaluation. I 
believe that it is right to count distribution even as an opening bidder. Most 
people now count long suits (1 point for fifth card in long suit, 1 extra point 
for sixth, etc). That is counting distribution. Let’s call your points including 
distribution total points.

You need 13 total points to open the bidding in first or second seat. Some 
books say 12 only but then they are not including distribution. You need to 
know the Rule of 20 for when you are in first or second seat and only have 
11 or 12 points. If you find yourself close to an opening bid but feel you don’t 
have enough points to open, use the Rule of 20. Count your HCP and then 
add the length of the two longest suits. If this totals 20, then you have per-
mission to open the bidding.

e.g. If you have:

♠ A 8 3 2   ♥♥ A 6 5 3   ♦♦ A 7 6 4   ♣ 5 

Your 12 HCP plus two four-card suits = 20. You have permission to open the 
bidding.

Note: You should not use the Rule of 20 to give you permission to open 
the bidding in first or second seat when you have a hand such as this:

♠ Q J   ♥♥ Q J 6   ♦♦ Q J 7 4   ♣ Q J 4 2

This assortment of junk will tally 20 with the Rule of 20 but doubleton 
queens or jacks are a sorry sight and do not deserve much respect. We call 
queens and jacks, ‘quacks’! This hand is not an opening bid.

Here’s what you really have to remember: the value of your hand is in a 
constant state of flux. Once partner starts bidding, your hand is like a flower 
— it either blossoms and grows or it wilts and dies. If you have a short suit in 
your hand and partner bids that suit, you are depressed. Your hand has wilt-
ed. It is never good to have a shortage in partner’s suit. We are constantly 
searching for fits, not misfits. If partner bids spades and you have a shortage 
of spades in your hand (2 or fewer), adjust your point count as follows:
•	 �if you have a void in partner’s suit, deduct up to 3 length points from 

your hand.
•	 �if you have a singleton in partner’s suit, deduct up to 2 length points 

from the value of your hand.
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•	 �if you have a doubleton in partner’s suit, deduct up to 1 length point 
from your hand.

If you had not added any length points because you had no long suit, you will 
not subtract at all. But you need to realize that your hand has gone downhill. 
It is devalued.

Declarer Points

♠ 3   ♥♥ A J 6 5 4 3 2   ♦♦ A K 4   ♣ 7 6 

Counting total points on this hand, it comes to 15. But if we open with 1♥♥ 
and partner bids 1♠, this hand has now dropped in value and we only have 
13 (subtracting 2 length points for the singleton spade). We should choose 
2♥♥ as our rebid as this is now a minimum hand.

But, if instead (see hand above again) partner has bid 2♥♥ after our 1♥♥ 
opener, then our hand now grows up. We must add 1 extra point for the 
fifth card in the suit that has been supported and 2 extra points for each 
remaining card. (Yes, in addition to the length points you already counted. 
You may call it double-dipping!) Your hand has increased in value, now that 
you know you are going to be declarer. If you do not do this, then you re-
main with the same old 15 points and will have to pass partner’s 2♥♥ bid that 
showed 6-9 points. How can this be right?

This idea was the invention of Charles Goren, many years ago, and will 
never fail you in getting you to games and slams. I truly believe it is the best 
hand revaluing method. In the above example, we now have 20 points (after 
adding the extra 5 points). Partner has raised us to 2♥♥ (showing 6-9 points), 
and we should now bid 4♥♥.

If the opponents have bid a suit in which you have a singleton king or 
queen, or even a doubleton queen or jack, count nothing for these cards: 
they are most unlikely to win any tricks.

Dummy Points
When you are going to become dummy (because you have three-card or 
better support for partner’s major suit or five or more of partner’s minor 
suit), then long-suit points go away and short-suit points come in.

When you are going to become dummy, if you have three-card support 
for partner, then use the 3-2-1 dummy points method. Short-suit points will 
be counted as 3-2-1 (3 for a void, 2 for a singleton and 1 for a doubleton).
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When you are going to become dummy, if you have four-card support 
(or more) for partner, then use the 5-3-1 dummy points method. Short-suit 
points will be counted as 5-3-1 (5 for a void, 3 for a singleton and 1 for a 
doubleton).

Always remember to revalue your hand — up or down — as the bidding 
proceeds.

A misfit? Quit!
The ideas in this section are so important that they are worth emphasizing 
again. Less experienced players sometimes pick up their hand, count their 
points, find they have 13 points and no matter what happens during the en-
tire auction, they continue to believe they have 13 points. That’s very rarely 
true. A bridge hand is like a living, breathing thing, and its value changes 
during the auction. We must learn how to evaluate our hand at all times and 
bid accordingly. Take the following scenario:

			   ♠	 K J 10 9 7 5 3 
			   ♥♥	 7 
			   ♦♦	 K 6 3 2
			   ♣	 3 
	 ♠	 Q 4 2			   ♠	 A 8 
	 ♥♥	 K 8 4 			   ♥♥	 J 5 3 2
	 ♦♦	 A J 4 			   ♦♦	 10 9 8 5 
	 ♣	 K 10 9 4 	

N
W	 E

S 	 ♣	 Q 8 2
			   ♠	 6 
			   ♥♥	 A Q 10 9 6 
			   ♦♦	 Q 7 
			   ♣	 A J 7 6 5 

	 West	 North	 East	 South
			   1♥♥
pass	 1♠	 pass	 2♣
pass	 2♠	 pass	 3♣
pass	 3♠	 pass	 4♣
pass	 4♠	 dbl	 all pass

This wasn’t an auction, it was a fight! Indeed, without the use of bidding 
boxes, the auction would get louder and louder as each player insisted on 
the right to play in their choice of trump suit! (Tip to the opponents: always 
penalty double such an auction!) On any reasonable line of defense, declarer 
will go down two in 4♠.
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What went wrong? Whose fault was this? Who should have quit first? 
The first person to recognize that there is a misfit should quit once they have 
adequately described their hand. In this case, South correctly bid hearts first 
and then bid her clubs next. She could have passed 2♠, but rebidding clubs 
isn’t terrible. However, after that, enough’s enough. Let partner play this 
hand in 2♠ or 3♠.

Now let’s look at a much rosier situation, where the players still went 
wrong.

A fit? It’s a hit!
			   ♠	 K 9 8 7 
			   ♥♥	 K 7 
			   ♦♦	 8 5 4 3 
			   ♣	 7 6 5 
	 ♠	 2			   ♠	 Q 10 
	 ♥♥	 A 10 8 4 			   ♥♥	 9 6 3 2
	 ♦♦	 Q 10 9 2			   ♦♦	 A K J 
	 ♣	 Q 4 3 2	

N
W	 E

S 	 ♣	 J 10 9 8 
			   ♠	 A J 6 5 4 3
			   ♥♥	 Q J 5 
			   ♦♦	 7 6 
			   ♣	 A K 

	 West	 North	 East	 South
			   1♠
pass	 2♠	 pass	 3♠
all pass

This hand always makes 4♠. What happened? Back to hand evaluation. 
Adding two points for the fifth and sixth card in the spade suit, South has 17 
points. But the minute partner supports your long suit, you should be glow-
ing. Gone are the feelings of despair that you experienced on the last ‘misfit’ 
hand! Your hand has increased in value.

Whenever partner supports your long suit, remember to add 1 extra point 
for the fifth card in the suit that has been supported and 2 extra points for 
each remaining card in that long suit. Yes, this is in addition to all the points 
you started with. Now this hand is worth 20 points. Partner promised you at 
least 6 points. Add this together and away you go! Knowing her side has 26 
points, South should have bid 4♠, instead of inviting partner with 3♠.
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